Tex-Mex “Pizza”

Easter Sunday, for me, began when my alarm went off at 3:15. By 3:45 I was at work. By 4AM I was directing traffic and trying not to get run over by exhausted drivers who were trying to park behind me, completely ignoring how I was waving them over to closer parking spaces. By the time the sun rose, I’d drunk 7 cups of coffee and was more than ready for another 7. In short, Easter was exhausting.

That means that when I got off work, I wanted something easy so I could crash. I stared into the depths of my cupboard with the thousand-yard stare that develops after the fifteenth coffee of the day. And my eye caught on a can of off-brand Rotel.

Thus, the Tex-Mex “Pizza” Experiment began.

Ingredients:

1 loaf bread (I used Italian)

1 can Rotel

Salsa con Queso

Shredded Mexican blend cheese

Directions:

Cut loaf of bread in half. Score down the inside, splitting loaf into thirds. Top with queso, Rotel, and shredded cheese. Bake at 425 until cheese is melted, about 10 minutes. Broil for 1-2 minutes to brown cheese. (You’d never believe that picture was after just 2 minutes under the broiler…*sigh*. One day I’ll get it right.)

Nutritional value:

Absolutely none.

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Kitchen experiments, Recipes, Vegetarian/vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

