Vegan pumpkin scones

My sister and I made pumpkin scones over the break! Full recipe here!

HOWEVER – there are some problems with the recipe. There’s too much flour, too much ginger, and too little sugar in the original. Reducing the flour to 3 cups and upping the sugar to 3/4 cup helped. We didn’t try it with less ginger, but 2 tsp. seems like a reasonable amount. Or (we didn’t try this) replacing some of the ginger with pumpkin pie spice might be god too.

Funny story time!

My sister didn’t realize I’d already oiled the pans, so she put more oil on. About halfway through the cooking time, I sniffed and said, “They’re frying!”

My sister said, “Yeah, I guess they are. This’ll be interesting.”

I can honestly tell you that fried scones are tough and gross. So don’t ever try them.

Stay golden, and happy baking!

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Vegetarian/vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan pumpkin scones

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    These look amazing! I love pumpkin, and scones, so these are perfect for me!

Leave a Reply

