Waffles!

“British Left Waffles on Falkland Island”

I think that headline was from the British Telegraph, I’m not entirely sure. Long story short, that popped up in my language class when we were discussing ambiguity.

Puns aside, I made waffles this morning. Delicious, dense, crispy waffles.

They were Frankenwaffles.

I admit, I’ve done some weird stuff in the kitchen. This was far weirder.

But Rachel, you are surely (not) thinking, how can waffles be weird? They’re just flour, sugar, eggs, and baking powder. What on EARTH can you do to complicate WAFFLES?!

Before I get into needlessly complicated waffle recipes (just go to the Food Network website, you’ll see what I mean), I should explain what happened this morning to necessitate Frankenwaffles instead of normal waffles.

1) My sister went vegan when she hit college

2) We were out of vanilla extract

3) We have wheat flour

4) The recipe I found was mysteriously lacking in sugar

5) After I’d made up some flaxseed/water to replace eggs, my sister said she didn’t want any because they used so much milk and she didn’t want me using soy milk instead

6) My sister has been talking about wanting blueberry waffles since we got home on Tuesday

7) I wanted to BAKE. Waffles are a delicious/semi-healthy alternative to cookies and brownies and cakes and NOM NOM NOM SUGAR.

(I actually still am in the mood for baking, despite having just made a pumpkin pie.)

Actually, that didn’t explain why Frankenwaffles instead of waffle-waffles. So here’s the short version: No vanilla extract, vegan sister (who didn’t tell me she didn’t want waffles until after the flaxseed), wheat flour, hole-y recipe.

Even though these were an amalgamation of three different waffle recipes and some of my own kitchen weirdness, they turned out well.

Okay, so, as it turns out, there was sugar and vegetable oil supposed to be in the original recipe. I wrote it down and then TOTALLY MANAGED to forget that I had to flip the page over until I went to write everything out just now. Stupidity, thy name is Rachel!

FRANKENWAFFLES

1 c. wheat flour

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 3/4 c. milk

1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. baking powder (4 tsp., if you don’t have a tablespoon for some weird reason)

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. almond extract

2 tbsp. ground flaxseed mixed with 6 tbsp. water OR 2 eggs

2 tbsp. + 1/2 tsp. sugar

Mix well. Pour into waffle iron. Eat. Enjoy.

These come out quite a bit denser than other waffles (probably from the egg substitution and lack of oil), but they’re absolutely wonderful. My sister said they looked “nomalicious,” which I’m going to assume is a good thing.

Happy baking, everyone. Stay golden!

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Vegetarian/vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

