T-shirt bag! (This post rambles and jumps topic a lot. You have been warned.)

I found a tutorial for a ruffled T-shirt bag from UrbanThreads (http://www.urbanthreads.com/pages?id=744) and thought, “Hey! I can do that!” (Note: I actually couldn’t. I can’t sew ruffles onto things. I was smart enough to realize that before I made more than one. That one became a rosette.

What a bad rosette.)

In any event, I hit up Goodwill and picked up two T-shirts: a purple one, which is what that rosette was made of, and a blue one, which is what the bag itself is made of.

And, of course, embroidery. I love the 1950s-type “coffee” images.

I got a new hoop! And embroidery needles! And black thread!

Also, apparently I look a lot like a girl who comes into the fabric store all the time. The person who told me that joked that we were twins. I told her my twin was at UMW in Fredericksburg, and her face was glorious.

Anyway, that pic was taken after about three hours of embroidery. I watched Thumbelina and the NostalgiaChick review of it and some of ThatGuyWithTheGlasses’ videos with a hallmate while this was happening. Go look them up! They’re funny! I promise!

Here’s the finished embroidery.

There’s something…off…here…AAAAHH! AAAH! OH MY GOD IT’S EATING MY FACE!

LOL JK. Seriously, though, her face creeps me out. Something about the French-knotted eyes screams “I WILL DESTROY Y-oh, you wanted toast? Sorry, I thought you said pancakes. If toast is all you wanted, I won’t destroy you. I’ll just EAT YOUR SOUL.” Kinda puts the “sleep when you’re dead!” thing in perspective.

Ahem. I’m sorry. I warned you this post would be rambling.

BAG!

I didn’t want what was going to be put in here to rip the embroidery threads, so I knew I needed to put in a lining. I was originally just going to stitch a square of fabric over the back, then realized it would come out oddly lopsided.

DUCT TAPE TO THE RESCUE!

It keeps the thread from getting tangled, stabilizes it a little bit, and is unnoticeable.

Okay, I was just sick of sewing by that point. EVERYTHING WAS DONE BY HAND AND IT DESTROYED MY SOUL.

So now I need to find something to do with the rosette. A necklace for the voodoo doll, maybe?

Maybe. Heh heh heh.

Stay golden.

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Accessories, Bag, Embroidery, Fabric, Upcycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

