Embroidery + Explosives!

For a blog that bills itself on needlework, woodwork, baking, cooking, and explosives, I have been stunningly deficient on both explosives and woodwork (although I guess you could consider that redone wall cabinet woodwork? Maybe? If you stretch the definition a bit?). I can’t do much with either, since I’m at a college that barely allows POCKETKNIVES (pocketknives, y’all. Knives that fit in a pants pocket), but that doesn’t mean I can’t share ways to make harmless explosives.

Yes, harmless explosives exist. Or rather, explosives that are harmless unless you are truly, truly stupid.

But first, here’s the embroidery, for those of you not-so-into the whole explosives-with-purple-smoke-with-things-under-the-kitchen-sink-and-medicine-cabinet thing.

Based on a design at Urban Threads.

Close-up of the cauliflower!

First time embroidering (say “embroidering” three times fast, I dare you. Make your roommate think you’ve gone crazy, like my Study of Language teacher keeps trying to make us do) with regular sewing thread. Purple, in case you couldn’t tell. More precisely, Coats & Clark All-purpose CA00011. That means I couldn’t do split stitch for the circle, so I ended up doing small backstitch. Also, pencil =/= a good tracing tool.

Explosives time!

Ammonium iodide is a fairly harmless explosive. That being said, be smart about it. Don’t spread it over the steps of the local police department and wait for the purple smoke to go up, because that’s straight-up stupid. Also, don’t use it near anything flammable; though I’m fairly sure it won’t catch anything on fire, no point in being stupid.

Seriously. I know I’m beating you over the head with the stupid thing, but I’m kinda afraid someone’s going to skip right over the warnings and throw this in somebody’s face and go “But OYGYummy/Rachel told me it was harmless!” FAIRLY. FAIRLY. MOSTLY HARMLESS. NOT COMPLETELY HARMLESS. IT’S A MILD EXPLOSIVE.

I am not responsible for anything you do with this knowledge. Should you decide to use it for July 4th, it makes an impressive smoke display. Also, don’t inhale the fumes because you can. I’m pretty sure they won’t get you high and they might actually cause lung damage.

So, how-to guide for a mild explosive (and a story behind it):

Mix saturated ammonia with iodine crystals until no more iodine will dissolve. Pour off the excess ammonia and let sit until dry. WHEN IT IS WET, IT WILL NOT EXPLODE. WHEN IT IS DRY, A DUST MOTE WILL SET IT OFF. BE CAREFUL. I would suggest spreading it where you want it to be before it’s dry, then setting it off with a long stick. Or, throw them around like the pop-bombs you get for fourth of July.

That’s all there is to it. I probably won’t share how to make any of the more powerful explosives – thermite, napalm, etc. (which are really easy to make and, again, can be made with common household materials) – because I don’t really want a bunch of people making them and going “Here’s where I got it! Blame her!”

Anyway, here’s the story:

My father used to work for a defense contractor. His group decided to pull a prank. They set this up and poured it over the entrance to the cafeteria before everyone left for the night. The next morning, everyone freaked out over something like this making its way into a federal building. Don’t know why.

Maybe now that I’ve been writing for a little but, I’ll be able to write the paper I can’t figure out how to start.

Ta ta! Remember: ammonium iodide is an entertaining material, but is still vaguely dangerous. Don’t be an idiot.

Stay golden. (Or purple, as the case may be.)

 

 

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

