UPCYCLED wall cabinet and a recent song

Hello, all! Long time no see.

Basically, I picked up a wall cabinet at Goodwill for my dorm room. It cost $15. Here it is after I replaced the cork, which was falling apart:

The “corkboard” they had made it with was basically a 1/8″ thick x 18″ tall x 12″wide piece of cork, backed by 1/8″ of cardboard and then an 18 1/2″ x 12 1/2″ piece of plywood. I replaced the cork and cardboard with actual cork, so the things I stick on (like my class schedule) will actually stay in the cork.

That chalkboard was originally covered in the remainders of chalk from long ago, with basic 2+2=? written on it – I suppose it belonged to a homeschooling parent or an actual school at one point. It took quite a bit of water to clean it off; that “Πr², cake are round” was written by my father, whose tools I was using and who is a complete dork (but I love him anyway).

Basically, the chalkboard had to go. I wanted to keep the magnetized part of it (those wooden circles are actually magnets), so I decided to cover it with whiteboard paper – which, surprisingly, is not carried at Target, Wal-Mart, Staples, or Lowes, although Lowes has a $40 whiteboard paint kit (I wasn’t willing to shell out quite that much, hence the writing on the chalkboard).

At first, I tried contact paper, which my father assured me would work. Long story short, it didn’t. A few days later, when I was banging around the attic looking for resistors for the thousandth time (I’ll eventually post the project I’ll use the resistors for, but I can’t make it until I find them/break down and buy some), I found, of all things, whiteboard contact paper that we had gotten when my grandmother died a few years ago and just never got around to throwing away. So, finally, I had my cabinet:

which is now sitting on top of the desk that was in the dorm room since we can’t put nails in the walls.

Also, I’ve written a song for piano since I was away. If you’d like to hear it, it’s at http://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/42c354f5d77830296907dceee763aded111b1d62

Thanks for looking!

About oygcrafts

I am a teenager who enjoys baking, embroidery, building & blowing things up, and shooting guns, bows, etc.
This entry was posted in Music, Upcycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UPCYCLED wall cabinet and a recent song

  1. Now that is some magnificent literature.

Leave a Reply

